Those things that are of little value – will bring us no joy.

This past week here at the MTC has been a crazy one. To start things off, my three weeks as zone leader have come to an end. It is bittersweet, as I gain more time to be able to study, but leave behind being able to serve all of the elders and sisters in the zone in such a unique and special way. I will miss those times that I felt the Savior beside me as I served in the capacity as a zone leader, but I guess I will always have him by my side as I serve as a missionary.
Next crazy thing this week was that the Slovenian and Bulgarian Districts left the MTC. It was awesome to see them off and I know that they are going to do amazing things, but I miss the joy and guidance that they brought to our zone and to me individually.
The last crazy thing that happened this week was that we had our first Skype lesson with a family from Ostrava, in the Czech Republic! It was such an amazing experience as we got to know them and teach them about the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but hands down the best part of the whole experience was that we had their seven-year-old son close with a prayer for us. I will never forget that experience.

This week’s spiritual thought comes from 1 Nephi 6, the whole chapter. It is only six verses, but it is incredibly powerful. It reads:1 And now I, Nephi, do not give the genealogy of my fathers in this part of my record; neither at any time shall I give it after upon these plates which I am writing; for it is given in the record which has been kept by my father;wherefore, I do not write it in this work. 2 For it sufficeth me to say that we are descendants of Joseph.

 3 And it mattereth not to me that I am particular to give a full account of all the things of my father, for they cannot be written upon these plates, for I desire the room that I may write of the things of God.

 4 For the fulness of mine intent is that I may persuade men to come unto the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, and be saved.

 5 Wherefore, the things which are pleasing unto the world I do not write, but the things which are pleasing unto God and unto those who are not of the world.

 6 Wherefore, I shall give commandment unto my seed, that they shall not occupy these plates with things which are not of worth unto the children of men.

youth-writing-1154171-mobileWhile we may not be writing scripture as Nephi is, we are constantly writing the story and record of our souls. We should desire nothing more than to fill that record with those things that would please God and bring glory to his name. At the end of the day, those things that are of little value will bring us no joy, nor is there no room for them in the records of our soul. Therefore, those things that please the world, we should not write, do, think or say. As we do this, we will be blessed both now and when we reflect back upon our lives when we are with our Father again. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ our Savior, amen.

Let the family know that I love and miss them. Only three weeks left then I am flying outta here!

Happy Days!


Starší Page
Leave a Reply

