Why we don’t always get the help from God that we ask for . .

Sorry if this is short! Our regular emailing place is closed for the Holiday today, so my companion and I only get an hour this week… But, here is the summary of this past week!
Tuedsay, June 30:
Fairly standard work day. We did some tabling in the morning and some surveys in the afternoon. We had our regular English class in the evening, where we taught about gardening terms in English!
Wendsday, July 1:
We taught two of our less actives, and made huge breakthroughs with them! The both said they would try and start coming to church again. After those lessons, we went out with Kaja and did some street contacting, and when we finished, we helped him get prepared to go to the temple!
Thursday, July 2:
We traveled to Brno for training, which was super good! We focused a lot on decisions and setting goals for how we can get a stake here in the Czech Republic by the end of the year! After traing, we spent the rest of the day traveling home.
Friday, July 3:
We traveled out to Kromerzis again to teach an investigator we found and visit a member family. Afterwards, we did some tracting and contacting, before we began to make our way back to Zlin.
Saturday, July 4:
Weekly planning for the first half of the day, followed by some service in the afternoon. We visited one of our investigators who has a cherry tree, and helped him pick all the cherries and cut off some of the branches on the tree. After the service time, we got ready for our Fourth of July game night! We made hot dogs and burgers for our members, and we played ping pong and uno.
Sunday, July 5:
Church was good! A lot of the members were gone but, we were able to have some of our investigators come. After Church, we went out and contacted for 6 hours… It was 100 degrees here so, by the end of it, my companion and I were both dying, but we found some great new people to teach. To finish of our day we had a lesson with a new investigator we found earlier in the week.
Monday, July 6:
Today, not much has happened. We have shopped, studied, and cleaned, but that is about it.
Spiritual Thought:
This week is about why we don’t always the help from God that we ask for. This past week has been rather frustrating for me with investigators canceling on us and the incredibly hot weather we have been seeing, and at times I ask myself, “Why hasn’t God put some clouds in the sky today to keep the heat off our backs,” or “Why did this person have to get so busy all the sudden?” In my head, I was thinking of all the verses in the scriptures that talk about an Almighty God (Genisis 17:1), a Being who could rebuke the wind and the seas (Matthew 8:26), Someone who through which all things are possible (Matthew 19:26). I thought surely Heavenly Father and Christ could cool down the weather or ease up this person’s schedule. As I thought about this, one night I got an answer from a song on my companions Ipod called “No” by Cherie Call. I would suggest listening to it, but for convenience sake – here are the lyrics.

A little boy at the end of a day knelt by his bed to say a prayer
And Father up in Heaven heard the prayer he prayed
And listened to each word with greatest care
The boy said,
“Please bless that tomorrow I won’t have to take a bath,
And bless that they will cancel school for snow.”
And God had the power to protect him and never let him grow
But He said, “No.”

A young man was holding tightly to the hand of a girl who had to say
goodbye
And as she walked away he had to whisper a prayer
As he fought every tear that filled his eyes
He whispered,
“Please can you make her turn around and change her mind?
It’s the deepest hurt that I have ever known.”
And God had the power to protect him and never let him grow
But He said, “No.”

And there are yeses that our Father can hardly wait to give
And they are packed in every crevice of the lives we live
Sometimes God will pour down miracles and amazing twists of fate
And other times He chooses just to whisper, “Wait.”

How many times have I prayed for blue skies
So no one has to cancel the game
And I feel so abandoned when the sky gets dark
Never knowing all the ones who prayed for rain
And usually the story’s even trickier than this
With solutions that only God could know
But if you ask Him if He’s ever overlooked you
Or ceased to love you so
He’ll say, “No.”

I love the answer I received from this song. That one, if I don’t receive the help that I asked for it is because I need to learn and grow from it.  And two, that no matter how many times he says “No” to me he will always love and care for me. To conclude this spiritual thought, I want to share Mosiah 26 and focus on verses 21 and 22.
 

 21 Nevertheless the Lord seeth fit to chasten his people; yea, he trieth their patience and their faith.

22 Nevertheless—whosoever putteth his trust in him the same shall be lifted up at the last day. Yea, and thus it was with this people.

 
I know we face trials for a reason. I know that through those trials we will grow. I know Heavenly Father loves us and that if we trust in Him and the answers He gives us, at that very last day, when we really need a yes, we will get one. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.
I hope you all have a great week!

Happy Days,

Starší Page
Leave a Reply

