“Come what may and love it!”

Dear Family and Friends,

It’s been yet another good week here in the Czech Republic! Lots of good things have been happening in the work, and we have been blessed with wonderful weather all week! Here is the day by day summary:
Tuesday, August 4:
We hit the ground running with a lesson at nine o’clock in the morning with a new investigator we found. Right after that we had our studies and lunch followed by an afternoon of contacting and tabling. At 5 we had our apartment inspections for the transfer (we passed with flying colors, haha). Then we had our English lesson to finish off the night. It was rather exciting because we had a bunch of youth come and check it out, making our class total around 13 people!
Wednesday, August 5:
We had district meeting in the morning here in Zlin. After our meeting we had district lunch followed by district splits. Afterwords, we regrouped and sent the Uherske Hradiste Elders home and went and taught another lesson to a new investigator we found, who is from Iraq! After our lesson we took a bus for two hours to contact a referral we received, who lives on the border of the Czech Republic. The rest of the day was spent teaching him and returning home.
Thursday, August 6:
We had another early morning, with a lesson at 9 and a lesson at 10. Then we had lunch and studies until about 2 when we headed out and began tracting and seeding panelaky in a place called Jizny Svahy for the rest of the day.
Friday, August 7:
Was fairly normal. Studies in the morning, followed by lunch and a mixture of contacting methods, including: Surveys, Family History, English, and Tabling.
Saturday, August 8:
We started with studies in the morning, followed by weekly planning. That took up most of our morning and afternoon… But at 5 we had a lesson with a recent convert named A, which went really well. And then we all went to game night and played ping-pong and cards.
Sunday, August 9:
We walked to church with a less-active member, and helped A prepare her talk. Then we had Church which went well. Then the rest of the day we were outside tracting homes and panelaky until about six when we had a lesson with the J family. We have been working with them for a while, and the mom and daughter have been baptized (M and A), but the dad has had some concerns about it. But during our lesson we got him to accept a date! I am so excited for their family, and J especially! He has been one of the people I have become close friends with on my mission thus far.
Monday, August 9:

Today, we had another short trip to the Zoo, so we could feed the stingrays again. And then the rest of the day we have been out working and contacting.

– – –
So this week I made sure to prepare a good spiritual thought, since I didn’t real have one last week (sorry about that…).
Last week I believe I mentioned I had my interviews with President McConkie. At the beginning of the interview, he asked me about my week and then we said a prayer. Then the first question he asked me after was, “Elder Page, you’re happy aren’t you?”
To which I laughed a little and said, “Yeah, I am”
“Why are you happy?”
I thought about it for a couple seconds, and then I just started laughing and said, “I have no clue. I have had beer cans thrown at me this week, it’s been 100 degrees almost every day we have been out, and we are having trouble finding people, but none of that has seemed to bother me really. I just feel good”
Then he told me, “Well keep doing whatever it is that is keeping you happy, because that is how you endure a mission well.”
After he said that, I began to wonder what it meant to endure something well, thus it became my topic of study this past week. In my studies, I found a talk by Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin titled “Come What May, and Love It”, and I loved how he described how to endure and be happy during our trials.

“When I was young I loved playing sports, and I have many fond memories of those days. But not all of them are pleasant. I remember one day after my football team lost a tough game, I came home feeling discouraged. My mother was there. She listened to my sad story. She taught her children to trust in themselves and each other, not blame others for their misfortunes, and give their best effort in everything they attempted.

When we fell down, she expected us to pick ourselves up and get going again. So, the advice my mother gave to me then wasn’t altogether unexpected. It has stayed with me all my life.

“Joseph,” she said, “come what may, and love it.”

I have often reflected on that counsel.

I think she may have meant that every life has peaks and shadows and times when it seems that the birds don’t sing and bells don’t ring. Yet in spite of discouragement and adversity, those who are happiest seem to have a way of learning from difficult times, becoming stronger, wiser, and happier as a result.”

I love that saying “Come what may, and love it”. We have a similar quote here in the Czech/Slovak mission, we say “Hug it”, meaning that when a trail comes, to reach your arms out and squeeze it. Embrace it. Look at it as a part of the wonderful journey we are on. As always it is always easier said than done. Some may ask, “How can we love days of sorrow?” I would say we can’t, at least not in the moment. However, as we choose to approach our trails wisely and try to find a way to learn from those difficult times, we will, as Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin said, become stronger, wiser, and happier.
In addition to that, I know that we can always turn to our Savior when we feel the weight of this world is too much. He is always there and always willing to help us. I know that as we “hug” our trails and remember to give thanks to God always, we will find happiness. – In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Hope y’all have a great week!
Happy Days,
Starší Page

 

One thought on ““Come what may and love it!”

  1. We are so pleased to know our oldest grandson is happy. One of life’s miracles is that we can find such joy in our own lives by sharing in another’s success and happiness. We are so proud of him and the example he is to our family. We miss him so much but we want him to continue to grow, learn, love others and find complete satisfaction and happiness in service. Our little buddy is becoming the great man we always knew he would be. Look Gavin — you’re flying!

    Like

Leave a Reply

