“When we do as Nephi and humbly ask the Lord to soften our hearts . . “

Dear Family and Friends,

So, this weeks email is a little late because there was a holiday here, and all of the places we could go to email were closed… So we are emailing today instead! So here is the day by day for the past week and a half!
Tuesday,  September 22:
I had an exchange with Elder Huffaker (my district leader) and we stayed here in Jihlava. It went really well! We met a man who was 89 years old and a fighter pilot during World War 2 (we didn’t find out which side) and we met a mom while we were contacting that we were able to meet with. We contacted for most of the exchange, but we wrapped up with our English Class that night, which went just as well as the week before!
Wednesday, September 23:
The exchange ended and we went to Trebic for District Meeting, we did a singing display for an hour before, and then went to lunch, before we headed back to Jihlava where we did building tours and Family History.
Thursday, September 24:
We had a crazy day, starting with a service project doing landscaping for a local group. Then we ran to a members house for a lesson and then lunch. After which we returned to the center for a singing display with the Sisters and then we had Family Home Evening with the youth in the Branch.
Friday, September 25:
We had weekly planning in the morning, and then we got out and contacted around Jihlava the rest of the day until we had sport night where we played soccer with some of the people we had contacted throughout the rest of the week!
Saturday, September 26:
We had a service that we went and did for most of the day for our Branch President. Mainly we harvested potatoes and stacked firewood. Then we got back into Jihlava and had our Branch Corelation Meeting followed by a lesson with a recent convert who brought some kind of super hot pepper for us to try… It was an interesting experience.
Sunday, September 27:
Was pretty normal. A family from Zlin came and it was super good to see them there! After church we were out the door contacting and tracting the rest of the day.
Monday, September 28:
We didn’t have Preparation day, so we taught basically all day since everyone was home for the holiday. We visited 3 new converts and some less actives and contacted in between.
Tuesday, September 29:
We had training in Brno! So, we took an early morning train there and then had training until about 3, and then we traveled back. We got back just in time for our English class!
So I don’t have a ton of time to write up a spiritual thought today, but it is from this last training. In 1 Nephi 2:16 it says:
 “And it came to pass that I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; wherefore, I did not rebel against him like unto my brothers.”
Nephi had questions in his heart about what Lehi had told him, just like I find myself having questions about the gospel or instructions I recieve from my mission leaders. I sometimes wonder wether the advice they give to me will truly work. I question it because of the hardness of my heart. But, I have found that like Nephi, when I humble myself and ask God if what they are asking me to do is right, he always softens my heart and helps me become excited to do all those things my leaders have asked me. Everyone has those times where they don’t openly rebel as Laman and Lemuel, but we might push away from what is asked of us by the Lord. I know that when we do as Nephi and humbly ask the Lord to soften our hearts, we will understand more fully his will for us.
In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.
I hope yáll have a great week!
Happy Days,
Elder Page
Leave a Reply

