“Many things are good, many are important, but only a few are essential.”

Dear Family and Friends,

I hope you have all enjoyed Conference weekend! It is such a pleasing to be able to hear from our church leaders. We haven’t watched it yet here because we are waiting until it is all translated into Czech so that we can watch it with all of our investigators and Branch members. Anywho here is the day by day of this past week:
Tuesday, September 29:
We had training in Brno (which was amazing as usual!), and the rest of our day was traveling there and back. Fortunately, we made it back in time for English class, which went well!
Wednesday, September 30:
We spent most of our day out on the streets talking to people, and at the end of the day we did building tours and family history.
Thursday, October 1:
We had a mini service project in the morning helping clear some dirt from an investigators yard. Afterwards, we showered up and we were out contacting until we had Family Home Evening with the Branch. It was a blast! We played a popular Czech game called “Bang” I think they have it in America, but I have only seen it here so far. After FHE, we helped a member clean the building.
Friday, October 2:
We contacted all day until we had sports night at 6. We had a good time playing with some of the Branch members and their kids.
Saturday, October 3:
We went back out to the farm where we normally do service in the morning. It was an interesting experience. We helped kill, pluck and process 27 turkies for their family. It was a good time and we were able to teach a lesson to their whole family including grandparents and cousins. Then we went out and we spent the rest of the day out contacting on the street looking for new people to meet and teach.
Sunday, October 4:
We had church, which was absolutely amazing! We had three investigators come and they all bore their testimonies for the whole branch (also one less active member we have been working with bore his, too). One of the investigators decided they wanted to be baptized. Needless to say, we and the Sisters were thrilled! The rest of the day we were contacting from about 1 until 8 and we found a new family that we will hopefully be teaching soon!
Today, Monday, October 5:
We got haircuts first thing this morning, followed by some studies and contacting. Then we had lunch with a friend of our’s named Marek who played in the NHL for a couple of years and is now retired here, and now we are emailing!
– – – –
I don’t have a lot of time this week, but I wanted to just share a thought/quote I have been tinkering with this past week.
“Many things are good, many are important, but only a few are essential.”
This past week I have reflected on the things I have had in my life, and I have found that this quote is so true. Often I have found myself preoccupied with the things in my life that are good and important, and that is when I have been the least happy. However, when I focused my efforts on those essential things in my life, like family, friends, the gospel, and alike, I am filled with a joy that cannot be taken away. I know God has blessed us with families, friends, and more importantly his gospel so that we can have joy. I know that it is where true joy comes from. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Hope yáll have an amazing week!
Starší Page
Leave a Reply

