I know he wants us to reach our full potential and all we need to do is ask . . .

Dear Family and Friends!
Happy post-Valentines Day! I hope you all enjoyed it and that you all had an amazing week! So this week has been a good one.It feels like the first normal week I have had in awhile. But I decided I am just going to summarize the week this week rather than doing a say by day synopsis. Monday was just a normal P-Day. Tuesday we were out busy contacting all day until we had our English Class at 6 and afterward we just spent time talking with our friend E.(The girl who is progressing very well) and the YSA that came to the class. Wednesday we had district meeting, where we talked about how we develop faith. Then we contacted on the streets the rest of the day. Thursday we also contacted all day, until we had a lesson with E. at 5, followed by a fame night at 6. Friday we were out all day contacting until we went to a birthday dinner with one of our friends. Saturday we weekly planned and had lunch with one of our investigators who is from Texas. After that, we contacted the rest of the day. Sunday was Valentines Day, and church was awesome! E. came for the first time and loved the whole thing! At first, she was nervous to be around all of the branch at once, but she said she felt at home there. After that she opened up and she had  wonderful experience. Today, just normal P-Day stuff.
So I have been studying in the Old Testament lately, and so my spiritual thought today comes from Genesis 25:30-34. And it says:

 29 And Jacob sod pottage: and Esau came from the field, and he was faint:

 30 And Esau said to Jacob, Feed me, I pray thee, with that same red pottage; for I am faint: therefore was his name called Edom.

 31 And Jacob said, Sell me this day thy birthright.

 32 And Esau said, Behold, I am at the point to die: and what profit shall this birthright do to me?

 33 And Jacob said, Swear to me this day; and he sware unto him: and he sold his birthright unto Jacob.

 34 Then Jacob gave Esau bread and pottage of lentils; and he did eat and drink, and rose up, and went his way: thus Esau despised his birthright.

In the culture of this time period, the firstborn son received a “birthright,” which included the right to preside in the family and a double portion of his father’s goods and land when his father died. The birthright son then could take care of the rest of the family, including his father’s widow. Some people criticize Jacob for “taking advantage” of his brother; however, we do not know the whole story. The story does show what little value Esau placed on the birthright and the blessings of being the firstborn son in the covenant line of Abraham and shows that Jacob desired those blessings.

Now how does this apply to us today? Esau traded away something that would be of great value to him in the future (his birthright) for something of little value that could be obtained right away and satisfied an immediate appetite (hunger). How often do we do this? Do we give up our dreams of achieving academically, by wasting our time doing something trivial like watching a tv instead of studying, or not paying attention in school, so we can keep up with the latest social things? Do we trade time building relationships with our family, by being absorbed in a phone or computer? The situations where we give up our long term desires to satisfy our temporary wants is countless. As my dad would always tell me “Don’t trade what you want most for what you want now.” My invitation for myself and you this next week, is to evaluate what we are doing. Are we giving up time with a loved one to attain temporary satisfaction? Are we giving up opportunities to become a better and more capable person by choosing to give up our time to social media or gaming? In short, are we giving up greatest desires to soothe our temporary wants?

I know that I have tried to apply this principle, that my dad taught me, in my life, and call of the Lord to help me overcome the natural man and have a vision of my true desires, I have felt empowered and supported by him. I know he wants us to reach our full potential and all we need to do is ask. I know this is true in the name of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, amen.

I love you all and hope you have a great week!

Starší Page
Leave a Reply

