When I am willing to give up some of what I want to help others . . .

Dear Family and  Friends,
So this week I don’t a lot of time to send off an email this week, but here is a quick spiritual thought for all of you!

This past week we had the opportunity to visit with a very wise member of the Branch here. They showed us a neat little object lesson.

They grabbed a pitcher of water and showed it to us and said that the pitcher was us and the water all of our desires, thoughts, and so on. They then brought out another pitcher of juice and said that it was representative of the spirit. They showed the only way for us to make room for the spirit was to pour away our desires to quench the need of others. I loved that and I have seen how it is so true during my mission. The times I am able to have the spirit is when I am willing to give up some of what I want to help others. Selfless service is truly the one of the crowning characteristics of charity. I am so grateful for the gift of the Spirit in my life and for all the other wonderful blessings my Heavenly Father has given me. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Have a great week!
Happy Days!
Leave a Reply

